In a Nutshell

It’s 2012.
And for that, I’m revved for all this New Year has to offer.

2011 was bittersweet: parts were overwhelmingly rough, yet I married the man of my dreams (which, in reality, tipped the scale to favor “sweet” – regardless of how craptastic the rest of the year was).


Super Step-dad, et.al: Romeo rocks. You’d hardly believe that he hated kids just two short years ago! {snort} In all seriousness, you’d never guess that this man had zero interest in living with/dating (let alone marrying) someone with children. Parenthood was NOT part of his plan. But, it’s ridiculous how amazing of a “parent” he is. He loves them, and EVERYONE sees it. He teaches them, and they appreciate it. He also surprises me with things like…playing Barbies with Mouse. Dude…Heart. Melt. I love that Man. On a side note: today marks 5 months of marital bliss for us. {smile}

Chunky Monkey: Yeah, that’s me. White chocolate at that. I cannot recall the last time my skin was this pale. ugh. skeery. While happy as a pig in poo, I’ve also become a beer chugging, bubble sipping, excessive movie-watching, snuggling my husband, recluse. I barely see the sun. I rarely see my friends. Sure, I go to work, but it’s right back home afterward. {sigh} I love it, but my body is suffering the consequences. Romeo and I are on a plan of more activity once again. Walks, runs, family bike rides, camping, socializing and a healthier, more BALANCED diet.

Munkees Bizness: How in God’s green earth do our children grow so fast? I had to buy my eldest a bra this winter. Ack. And her panties? Not the little girlie ones anymore ~ though Victoria’s Secret is a *long* way off (in our home anyway). Justice has a wonderful selection in this arena: The perfect segue into the undergarment world… Boo is still a crazy boy: Busy with Cub Scouts, baseball, Legos and the Wii. typical. Mouse started horseback riding lessons this past week. We are hoping this curbs her desire to OWN one. I asked her instructor to focus on hoof cleaning, body brushing and shit shoveling. {wink} What I love most about her teacher? There’s no hand-holding… “Why aren’t you moving? Give her a kick, let’s go!”


Christmas Toys: A tangerine Mixer and programmable Crock Pot were my two favorite gifts this Holiday Season. Oh, and the half case of bubbles, but I digress. Santa was good to me. Many more meals at home are in our future, along with an increase in my baking proclivities.

Pinterest: Where do I even start? Perhaps a support group. I’ve always had a “Black Book” that I’ve kept over the years that holds magazine clippings, recipes, photos of things I like, love or want to create or own. Now, it’s all in one place: online. I’m addicted. I’m obsessed. So much cool stuff in one spot. LOVE!

That’s it for now. Happy New Year! Wishing you all the Best, the Brightest and a Donkey-Free existence. {wink} xo

Leave a Reply

