Home Base is a Safe Place

 

What makes a home safe for children?

There are a plethora of items in the retail world that contribute to such a task. Child gates, anti-tip appliance straps, drawer and cabinet locks, electrical outlet caps, etc. are all examples and viable options of such items that a parent may take to ensure their young ones are protected. (The Safest Line is a fabulous resource for Child Safety.) Having a 5, 7 and 9 year-old, a majority of these measures have served their purpose and staying safe has morphed into something more.

Home Base for my sweet Munkees (aka my children) is a Safe Place in that my focus is open communication. It’s at these tender ages that children truly discover their social aptitude. Interpersonal associations are taking shape and peer pressure is rearing its beautiful/ugly head. The discoveries and interactions now, influence those in their future. It’s imperative the relationship I have with my children fosters trust and dependability with the cornerstone of mutual respect (in which all else is built upon). I’ve been where they are; I’ve experienced the growing pains of adolescence. And while they inevitably need to find their own way, being available to extend a spot of guidance or impart a sliver of wisdom, when asked, is my ultimate objective.

Opening the lines of communication, I conduct Family Meetings (typically monthly). A round table meeting at our rectangular dining table. I’m interested in what is happening in their lives. I want to know how they feel about their responsibilities around the house, school, their teachers, peers, football, lacrosse, and whatever else comes up. Where do they see us venturing on our next family vacation or what culinary concoctions are up their sleeves? How they are coping with being the product of divorce and what struggles are they encountering on a daily basis are popular topics as well. I want them to be able to talk about anything, everything and at will. I plan to continue this throughout their minor years.

These meetings, coupled with informal communication, attention and love, are my arsenal to keep my youngsters as safe as possible ~ emotionally and perhaps even physically. As they grow older, encountering new milestones and obstacles, it is my hope that they are properly equipped themselves and know they have a support system in me.

That’s the plan anyway… 😀

3 Responses

  1. Love this! What a beautiful entry, mama! And so smart listen and have an open conversation about their emotions like that.

  2. I fall in love with you a little more with each passing day.

    The irony that as a devoutly “childfree” person, it is in fact, your adoration, consideration and love for your children that has deepened my love for you, is not at all lost on me.

    You’re an amazing person and an even more so mother.

    I’m proud (beyond words) to not only share my life with you, but perhaps more importantly, be a part of your family!

  3. I love your take on what a safe home can be. Thanks for entering the Safest Parent competition.

Leave a Reply

