I Love Mom & Dad

My Rents are awesome.2185908364_d96dd8f8e3_m

Growing up, my parents were my heroes, bar none. I have wonderful memories of my childhood.

Reaching my teen years, I thought they were far too strict and I rebelled. At age 18, I moved out. They let me. In fact, I came home one afternoon and everything I owned was neatly packed into boxes in my garage bay and was informed I no longer lived there. (I suppose “moved out” should be rephrased as “kicked out”.) Now, I wasn’t a “bad” kid, I just knew it all and no one was going to tell me what to do or how to do it….

I moved in with my boyfriend that lived about an hour and a half north, severed communication with my parents and thought this new “freedom” was heaven…initially. I proceeded to experience the proverbial “Real World”.

Long story: short…I didn’t speak to my parents for almost a year and a half…until I received a letter from my dad. I [literally] broke down and called them. This act of “Tough Love” (kicking me out) and letting me learn through experience was what I needed to see life clearly. Now that I have my own children, I can see why my parents were the way they were back then…. I know this is all rather vague, but my life story is not the point of this blog post. I shared a little to emphasize the love I have for my parents now and not because my relationship with them has always been rosy.

My parents married when they were 21. They have been through their fair share of ups and downs, yet, they persevered. They are SOLID. They truly LOVE one another. Tonight, while on the phone with them, I can hear them bickering back and forth. Dad is complaining that Mom is a horrible passenger in the vehicle. (Having just returned from a jaunt up to Mississippi) Constant: “That car is braking [1 mile] up ahead”, “Watch out, a truck’s turning [waaaay] up there”, (complete with hands on the dashboard and “wet” sucking in of breaths.) We all KNOW this and I have joked for years that I am going to invent a helmet that she can place over her head, which projects a full [360 degree] setting of a tree~lined country road, scattered with nothing but bunnies, butterflies, squirrels and [recently added] unicorns. Alternately, my mother is peeved that my father dared to place the same knife that he previously had in the peanut butter jar “into the PEI Sour Cherry Marmalade”…leaving a trace of peanut butter in the preserves. (My mother loathes the stuff, yet has NEVER had a spoonful..EVER.)

THIS is what they “fight” about. (Meanwhile, I’m full-on laughing on the other end of the receiver.) How I LOVE them.

So now I sit here….reminiscing of my younger years up until now and the relationship I have had with them throughout. It’s a staggering reminder of how quickly time passes and the importance of cherishing those you LOVE …

I Love Mom & Dad.

One Response

  1. This sounds like what happened between me and my parents and how they fight. Hah.

    Great Post.

    BTW; love your munkee chatter.

Leave a Reply

