Maybe That Bridge Needed to Be Burned

burnbridge
« Rewind.

It’s May, I’m on a plane to Boston to visit LeBlon (when she lived there) and I start chatting up this older gentleman (aka: *Mogcom) sitting next to me. Being the extrovert I am and my interest in people in general, we talk about life generalities and the basics on personal fronts. He’s married with 3 older daughters, I’m a single mom with 3 young munkees. We have great conversation and it turns out, he was on a business trip introducing a new product into the marketplace. Said product is rather interesting to me, and being on the lookout for an actual career as opposed to the part~time turned full~time job that I’ve had since getting released from the grasp of Satan divorced, I was attentive! (Preface: since the age of 21, I’ve essentially been a stay~at~home wife/then mom)

So, Mogcom informs me that at a (soon approaching) later date, Company of aforementioned product will be looking for reps and would I possibly be interested. Well, of course I may possibly be interested! I get Mogcom’s business card and wish him well on his last leg back home.

» Fast Forward.

It’s July. I touch base with Mogcom to keep the lines open. He gets me in touch with HR and I’m up for this position. Turns out, the territory is the SE, covering 7 states. Great for single, childless person, not so much for single mom. It’s okay, the nature of the field will guarantee a Florida Only rep when company really gets going. They will keep in touch with me.

» Fast Forward.

It’s October. Mogcom contacts me. He’s in my neighborhood on a sales call and wants to get together to discuss Company direction, product & new viable position for me. Rad. Considering he’s not from here, I pick him up at his hotel and off to dinner we go. He informs me how excited he is to actually have dinner with another person, as he’s been traveling extensively. We talk over dinner, but I feel him “making eyes” at me, which is starting to become awkward. Afterwards, he wants to hang out. In fact, he invites me up to his room! WTF? Ummm….I decline. He sends me a text, thanking me for my time and he’ll be in touch in regard to this new position. I rationalize: “okay, he was just being friendly, I’m sure he didn’t want to do the nasty with me. He’s married with children. He’s lonely and just wants company.” Plus, this new position would be local, perfect for my situation and I wouldn’t have to see Mogcom on a regular basis. I wasn’t ready to burn that bridge.

< Yes…I KNOW what you ALL are thinking…>

• Last Night.

Mogcom contacted me a week ago, informing me again he’ll be in town and wanted to get together. Thinking strictly business, I agree. We meet at a local pub. I notice he is NOT wearing his wedding ring and the indent on his ring finger is FRESH. ~Red Flag~ I immediately decide that one beer is ALL I will be having (and I will be eating as well). We talk about business somewhat, in which I am constantly bringing the subject back to. Mogcom then proceeds to tell me that he’s been thinking about me a lot since we met and that the physical attraction is undeniable. ~Freak Alert Siren~ I am [more than] ready to go. I resist the urge to be “rude” and bolt. He gets up, leaves money on the bar and stands behind me waiting for change. He proceeds to rub my back‽‽ I jump up, telling him I need to get home and clean my digs. He offers to help‽‽ Aaaah!! (Why am I sooo frekkin’ nice? Run, girl, run!) I beeline it to my car. He grabs me, hugs me and tries to KISS me! Holy shizz, I’m shocked. I blurt out “I have a boyfriend!” (still TRYING to be nice but get him away from me) He goes on to say I never told him I had one and that I led him on…blah blah blah…to which I LAUGH and do so HYSTERICALLY. “Are you kidding me‽ I most certainly have not! I believe you are quite mistaken!” I reply. He’s not amused. I care none in the least. He wishes me “Good Luck” and before he can utter another word I am in my car and driving away. OMG!! Did all that really happen‽

Yeah, it’s safe to say that bridge is burned…and am I ever relieved it is.

*Mogcom ~ Married. Old. Guy. Coming. Onto. Me.

One Response

  1. OMG! You are a friggin riot!!! Seriously. How does this shit happen to you??!!??
    >>>>so much for that job prospect
    WHACKOS

Leave a Reply

